Bologna: capital and university town

The capital city of Emilia-Romagna is an important traffic junction located at the foot of the Apennines. Because of the red bricks of many houses it is called also “La Rossa” – Red City – and due to its time-honored university it besides bears the byname “La Dotta” – Erudite City.

The history of Bologna probably goes back to the Etruscan settlement Felsina that already existed in the 6th century BC. Under the Romans this settlement was called Bononia. Thanks to the construction of the Via Aemilia it gained importance as route and developed in an at that time relatively big town.

Then, till the Middle Ages this early height of Bologna wasn’t really noticeable. Only with the foundation of the “Studio” – the later university – in 1088 it obtained more influence again. About 80,000 students, which are attending this oldest academy throughout Europe today, leave their marks on the life in the city.

A first peculiarity for architecture fans spending their holidays in Bologna are the all in all 40 kilometer long arcades that can be found throughout the old town. Initially built with wood these arcades were used to create more space for the growing number of inhabitants without blocking the paths underneath them. Many of these archways are still visible today and they are decisive for the unique atmosphere that you can experience strolling through the city. Moreover they make it possible to reach every place sheltered from rain, sun and wind.

Another characteristic of Bologna in Emilia-Romagna are the so-called family towers constructed by noble families during the Middle Ages. Many of them were destroyed at the end of the 19th century, but some are still preserved, for instance also the two landmarks of town: Torre Garisenda and Torre degli Asinelli. Moreover, worthwhile trips lead to diverse city palaces, museums, the square Piazza Maggiore with fountain in the town center and the impressive Gothic basilica San Petronio.

Therefore Bologna makes a major contribution to the cultural heritage of Emilie-Romagna. Visits to the other art towns in the environs such as Modena, Ferrara or Parma and to the seaside of Rimini round the holiday pleasure off.

Bologna: Haupt- und Universitätsstadt

Die Hauptstadt der Emilia-Romagna ist ein wichtiger Verkehrsknotenpunkt, der am Fuße des italienischen Gebirgszugs Apennin liegt. Wegen der roten Ziegel vieler Häuser wird sie auch „La Rossa“ – die Rote – genannt und aufgrund ihrer altehrwürdigen Universität trägt sie außerdem den Beinamen „La Dotta“ – die Gelehrte.

Die Geschichte von Bologna geht vermutlich auf die etruskische Siedlung Felsina zurück, die bereits im 6. Jahrhundert vor Christus bestand. Unter den Römern erhielt diese nicht nur den Namen Bononia, sondern dank des Baus der Via Aemilia auch Bedeutung als Verkehrsverbindung und wuchs daher zu einer für die damalige Zeit sehr große Ortschaft heran.

Von dieser frühen Blüte Bolognas war bis ins Mittelalter dann nicht mehr viel zu spüren. Erst durch die Gründung der „Studio“ – der späteren Universität – im Jahre 1088 erlangte sie wieder mehr Einfluss. Rund 80.000 Studenten, die diese älteste Akademie Europas heute zählt, prägen nach wie vor das Leben in der Stadt.

Eine erste Besonderheit, die Architekturinteressierten beim Urlaub in Bologna sicher gleich ins Auge fallen wird, sind die insgesamt 40 Kilometer langen Arkaden, die in der ganzen Altstadt zu finden sind. Ursprünglich aus Holz gefertigt dienten diese Arkaden dazu, im ersten Stock mehr Platz für die stetig wachsende Einwohnerzahl zu schaffen, ohne den Durchgang darunter zu verbauen. Viele dieser Bogengänge gibt es bis heute. Sie sind verantwortlich für das einzigartige Flair, das man beim Flanieren oder Shoppen in der Stadt erlebt – und dafür, dass man von Regen, Sonne und Wind geschützt von einem Ort zum anderen gelangt.

Ein zweites Charakteristikum von Bologna in der Emilia-Romagna sind die sogenannten Geschlechtertürme, die noble Familien der Stadt im Mittelalter errichten ließen. Viele davon wurden Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts zerstört, einige blieben jedoch erhalten, darunter die beiden Wahrzeichen der Stadt: Torre Garisenda und Torre degli Asinelli. Einen Abstecher wert sind außerdem diverse Stadtpaläste, Museen, die Piazza Maggiore im Stadtzentrum mit dem Neptunbrunnen und die eindrucksvolle gotische Basilika San Petronio.

Somit leistet Bologna einen wesentlichen Beitrag zum Kulturerbe der Emilia-Romagna. Ein Besuch in den anderen Kunststädten ringsum wie etwa Modena, Ferrara oder Parma sowie ein Trip ans Meer nach Rimini runden das Urlaubsvergnügen ab.